Why, WordPress…why?


It seems you changed the Reader, WordPress.  I’m not opposed to change.  Heck, I wear a different pair of socks everyday (OK, a few times when I was camping I had to double up).  However, you seem to redesign things a whole lot.  Are you not happy with yourself?  I liked you just the way you were. Now my Reader only scrolls to a certain point and the “read time” is too much pressure.  What if I don’t read very fast?  Is it a test or competition?  Maybe I want to savor the stories a bit.  Now I’m going to have to use an egg timer.  You remind me of this guy I grew up with who was always changing his appearance.  One day, goatee.  Next day…mustache.  Long hair, short hair, no hair.  Hippie, beatnik, surfer boy, business professional, rocker, Goth, and the Hello Kitty phase.  He was like Lon Chaney.  WordPress, please lose the makeup artist and stick to a look for an extended period of time.  Buy the designers a PlayStation 4 to keep them busy for a while.  Thanks in advance.

Image courtesy of doctormacro.com

Image courtesy of doctormacro.com

18 comments on “Why, WordPress…why?

  1. irtfyblog says:

    I mentioned to those that make changes that they should go back to the way it was in 2013 because it was subtle and pleasant to use, however, they haven’t accepted my idea.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Tony Burgess says:

    I think they have made some tweaks so it might be working better now.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Just Plain Ol' Vic says:

    Hate it! Sent WordPress my negative feedback already!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. milliethom says:

    I don’t like this new Reader, either. It’s confusing and, as you say, visually less appealing. It will take a bit of getting used to – and I prefer the word count to the time to read idea. Thanks for posting.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. sanseilife says:

    I don’t think you get to see how many other people “like “a particular post either but I haven’t figured that out

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Gigi says:

    I preferred the word count. Of what use is it to me how long WP thinks it will take me to read it? I wish they would stop tweaking things and just let people read geez lol.

    Like

  7. Well they have tried but not sure I like it…just doesn’t seem to be as friendly. Now we have seconds not words (does either matter its just a taster)

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Nicely written and great points! I was gone all weekend and using my tablet and came home to this confusion. Errgh.

    Liked by 2 people

  9. lynettedavis says:

    I’m not sure how I feel about this new design. I liked the vibrant pictures. Now, all the posts look similar. I think I like the old Reader better. I do like the fact that the post lists how many minutes it takes to read the post, although I think it’s off, as opposed to how many words. That’s a plus. Just my two cents.

    Liked by 1 person

What's on your mind?

