Rain, Rain…don’t go away…

This is a repost..but there’s a good thunderstorm rolling tonight and made me think of this song.

It’s raining in Southeast Missouri this morning.  I’ve always enjoyed the rain ever since I can remember.  When I turned about fourteen years old, I worked on a mowing crew and when it rained we had a “shop day”.  Basically a day when a group of young men would clean the lawn mowers, weed eaters, etc.  Of course, we gave each other plenty of BS as guys are prone to do at any age.  We found it much easier to give each other crap without the noise of the equipment drowning out our good-natured insults.  I still speak to many of those fellas.  I’ve been blessed with maintaining long term friendships in my life.  We all look back at those days as “being on a gravy train with biscuit wheels.”  This song speak about being “as low and lonely as the rain.” For me personally, I’ve found that when I’m feeling down a good rain helps wash off the funk.  I hope you like it.

This entry was posted in Blog and tagged .

6 comments on “Rain, Rain…don’t go away…

  1. Two of my favourite smells in the world is that of a freshly mowed lawn and that of the clean air and “wet” sand after a day of rain. your post reminded me of both 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. milliethom says:

    There’s something so deliciously soothing about the gentle patter of rain against the windows and outside paving. I love to walk in rain like that. Of course, it’s a different matter when it’s heavy / torrential and combined with raging winds! Wind, I don’t like at all! I enjoyed reading your rainy day reminiscences and hearing the song, too.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Milliethom, have you ever experienced the raging winds, thunder and lightning that come with a good tropical thunderstorm? I grew up with them and absolutely loved them. its my favourite type of rain.

      Liked by 1 person

      • milliethom says:

        No, I can’t say that I have. In Britain the weather is rarely that extreme! The closest I’ve ever got to witnessing a tropical storm was in Australia, ten years ago. The lightning was amazing (through the hotel window, that is!) and the rain was torrential. There were no raging winds, though. I can understand your love of such storms.

        Liked by 2 people

    • mojoshawn says:

      Your speaking my language, Millie! Those are wonderful rainy moments I enjoy as well. Thank-you for sharing! -Shawn

      Liked by 1 person

What's on your mind?

