The “Focus”.

I truly enjoy the digital age we live in.  Heck, I’m an IT Admin.  A person can interact with people from other cultures, explore art and music,  view amazing images, and stay informed through stories and research.  I love all those things, and of course funny Grumpy Cat memes.  What does bother me is that it can also draw one’s focus to areas where it wouldn’t normally be taken.  For example:  I may see a story about some kid being bullied a thousand miles from me. There’s all kinds of comments from people who are outraged and have plenty of advice to give.  It’s easy to do under the guise of a bit of anonymity.  I plead guilty myself on some occasions.  Don’t get me wrong, I have sympathy for people going through tough times.  However, I feel many people focus on stories such as these while completely overlooking problems right down the street from them.  “Charity begins at home.”  I don’t view that as a quote about giving money, which I guess it isn’t.  It’s about charity of spirit, helping, giving support to those who need it within your actual sphere of influence.  The following quote is another that not only refers to one’s own home, but the community in which we live.  I wish more people followed it.  I strive to myself, although it’s something I can always improve upon.

“Let everyone sweep in front of his own door, and the whole world will be clean.”

~Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

6 comments on “The “Focus”.

  1. Communication is a great thing…. Whilst most of us bloggers seem to get along, enjoy finding the differences, discovering things we didn’t know and wondering why we didn’t , or just simply enjoying the conversation and the images that accompany so many. But sad to say there are a few who just want to pick a fight….it is then that two way communications seem to fail. Mind you it is the same in the spoken world. I was told at a young age ” God gave you one mouth and two ears….use them in that proportion”. The same applies to blogging, be prepared listen, absorb and measure your response. ….And Oh Dear! this has been a long one.

    Liked by 1 person

    • mojoshawn says:

      David, I always enjoy your insights and I agree with you completely. I feel blessed to say I have few pet peeves, but “Internet bullies” are certainly one of them. I’m and IT Admin and have seen it many, many times. I try to measure my responses by asking myself, “Would I say this to someone’s face?” Many feel the need to be the Devil’s advocate. I’ve seen people change their stand 5 times in one thread just for the sake of argument. These are usually the same people actively looking to be offended. They are always successful in their search. The quote you mentioned is a great one, and should be exercised by all. Thank-you for sharing your thoughts, I appreciate them!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Just Plain Ol' Vic says:

    One of the things that I think we have given up is truth and ethics (in journalism/reporting) in exchange for sensationalism and access.

    It is a sad commentary at times!

    Liked by 1 person

    • mojoshawn says:

      Vic, I absolutely agree. Another problem of course is the threat a company may pull their ads if reported on in a non-flattering way. I hate to say it, but I saw more truth in reporting on the Daily Show and Colbert Report. Sad times.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. T.R. Sanders says:

    Truer words, my friend. It is definitely that much easier, in this “digitized era,” to become swept up in the relative anonymity of our online personas. Especially for a person such as myself that is prone to isolationism and antisocial proclivities! I have recently realized the importance of deliberately keeping myself connected to the physical community and “actual” live, tangible humans, and a reminder of the need for interpersonal connection is always welcome.

    On that note…it’s nice out, and methinks there is a trail that needs hikin’!

    Like

    • mojoshawn says:

      Thanks for the comment, Ryan. The media casts it’s gaze up some story and throws up it’s spin all over it’s viewership until many times it tough not to get caught up in the “drama”. A person will type a comment aimed at someone who is being inconsiderate on Antarctica, as they look at their window at the elderly neighbor next door shoveling snow. Crazy, man. I hope Mother Earth turned you on to a great hike! Stay thirsty!

      Liked by 1 person

What's on your mind?

