F/A-18 Hornet

Captain Keith Hoskins, this one is for you buddy!

20131026-095257.jpg

amateur airplanes

The F/A-18 is finally complete and I am quite content with the finished product. Hasegawa, once again, put out a superb kit.
Assembly went in the typical fashion with no hang-ups to report. I must say, I was apprehensive with the painting. I could have used decals for the blue on the spine and vertical stabilizers, but I have terrible luck with decals that have to conform around curves. I try to use paint everywhere possible instead of a decal. I left the vertical stabilizers on the sprue which made it extremely easier to work with. I sprayed both with Model Masters Blue Angel Blue. Next, I masked the spine off and shot the rest of the plane with Model Masters Dark Ghost Gray. After a day of drying, I applied the decals. Another day of letting the decals set and I began weathering and final assembly. I sealed everything…

View original post 35 more words

What's on your mind?

